Free Write #1: Group Facilitation-Teacher Appropriateness

I once had a teacher that would only talk about her personal life. It wasn’t a big class, only one of about 15-17 students. There were about 6 students that would always sit near her desk and they would just talk to her the whole class. All the teacher would do was pass out busy work then go back and talk to those students. They were always loud enough to where the rest of the class could hear their conversation. They would gossip and talk about their weekends or their personal lives. The teacher even admitted to the students that she occasionally smoked at times. I even heard a rumor that she hooked up with one of those students, but it’s a rumor so who knows if it was true or not. This type of behavior from a teacher was extremely inappropriate in my opinion. At the time, I was a freshman in high school and didn’t care as much because I didn’t want to do actual work. But at certain times I would think about how this teacher even got a job or is maintaining her job if this is the only kind of behavior she displayed. She would often wear clothing that was absolutely not appropriate for teacher. This affected the way I acted towards her. I gave her respect to her face but in reality I actually didn’t. Maybe I didn’t necessarily respect her, more of the fact that I wasn’t rude to her. I didn’t take her opinions or her teachings seriously at all. I’m pretty sure I didn’t learn one single thing in that class.

 

Leave a Reply

